Eddie Santiago

From Lyriki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Eddie Santiago (Eduardo Santiago Rodríguez) (born August 18, 1955) is a salsa singer from Puerto Rico. At a young age, Eddie demonstrated great love for salsa music. He performed with several groups, including Generación 2000, Orquesta La Potente, Orquesta Opus, and the Orquesta Saragüey.

Santiago's career took off in 1984 in Puerto Rico and Latin America as a soloist, formimg his own band, and recording songs including: "Tú me quemas" (You Burn Me), "Qué Locura Enamorarme de Ti" (What Madness To Fall in Love With You), "Me Fallaste" (You Failed Me), Antidoto y Veneno (Antidote and Venom), "Tu Me Haces Falta" (I Need You) and his best known hit "Lluvia" (Rain, not to be confused with Menudo's hit of the same name), and many others with his fame eventually spreading to Europe and the United States making him one of the most popular Salsa singer in the late 80's and early 90's. He was one of the main singers singing what was called "Salsa romántica", romantic salsa, due to the romanticism present in the lyrics.

His first major recording on an international label was with Sony Music in 1999. He also recorded for the TH, EMI Latin, and Polygram labels, including the well regarded production inspired by the music of Rafael Hernández, entitled "Enamorado".

In 1999 he released Celebration: Epic Duets. He was joined on that album with other stars in the Latin music scene, Víctor Manuelle, Huey Dunbar and Elvis Crespo. The album was named one of the best recordings of 1999 by the National Foundation for Popular Culture.

Santiago has earned both gold and platinum records, along with other awards.

2004 and present

In 2004, Eddie Santiago announced a return to commercial music, with his new CD, Despues del Silencio, a title that alludes to the long period since his previous CD was released.

He was nominated for the Salsa/Merengue Album of the Year in the 2006 Grammy Awards.

His song "Black is Black" was included on the Nacho Libre movie soundtrack.


  • 1986 - Atrevido y Diferente
  • 1987 - Sigo Atrevido
  • 1988 - Invasión De La Privacidad
  • 1989 - El Rey de la Salsa Romántica
  • 1990 - New Wave Salsa
  • 1991 - Soy el Mismo
  • 1993 - Intensamente
  • 1994 - Cada Vez, Otra Vez
  • 1995 - Eddie Santiago
  • 1996 - De Vuelta A Casa
  • 1998 - Enamorado
  • 1999 - Celebración: Epic Duet
  • 2001 - Ahora
  • 2002 - Interpreta 'Los Grandes Éxitos De Luis Angel'
  • 2005 - Después Del Silencio
  • 2006 - En Su Estilo...Romántico Y Sensual


External links